Upcoming Concerts

<h2><em>Kansas City Symphony Classical Series</em></h2>
BEETHOVEN’S “EMPEROR” <em>and</em> WAGNER’S <em>RING</em>
June 1-3, 2018
Helzberg Hall | Kauffman Center

A towering masterpiece of the classical canon, Beethoven’s “Emperor” Piano Concerto earned that nickname for its unmistakably grand and noble qualities. While Beethoven composed the work when he was confronting deafness, the concerto still exudes pride and heroism — expansive, powerful music refusing to surrender to the misery Beethoven suffered during its composition. Wagner’s four-part series, The Ring of the Nibelung, is the pinnacle of operatic extravagance and indulgence. The Kansas City Symphony presents excerpts from Wagner’s Ring featuring some of the most gargantuan and thrilling episodes of instrumental music from the entire operatic repertoire.


Masterworks & Ovation Series

Fri 6/1/18 8:00PM
Sat 6/2/18 8:00PM
Sun 6/3/18 2:00PM

<h2><em>Kansas City Symphony Classical Series</em></h2>
June 15-17, 2018
Helzberg Hall | Kauffman Center

Imagine lush green olive groves, picturesque vineyards and the fresh scent of lemon and orange trees drifting in on a warm, summer breeze. Mendelssohn’s long-awaited journey to Italy inspired this cheerful Fourth Symphony, one of his most vibrant and popular works. From beginning to end, the “Italian” Symphony is jam-packed with energy, lovely melodies and gorgeous orchestral writing. Superb violinist Augustin Hadelich solos in Haydn’s beautiful First Violin Concerto, one of the most-performed violin concertos of the mid-18th century, and the mesmerizing “Concentric Paths” by contemporary composer Thomas Adès.


Masterworks & Ovation Series

Fri 6/15/18 8:00PM
Sat 6/16/18 8:00PM
Sun 6/17/18 2:00PM

<h2><em>A Century of Bernstein</em></h2>
June 22-24, 2018
Helzberg Hall | Kauffman Center

The Kansas City Symphony 2017-18 season finale will set your heart and soul ablaze with two theatrical masterpieces. In Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, a lovesick composer plunges into a deep sleep where he encounters a series of visions involving his beloved, culminating in the stunning “Dream of a Witches’ Sabbath.” Almost two centuries after its stunning premiere, Symphonie fantastique remains one of concert music’s wildest adventures. Inspired by W.H. Auden’s “fascinating and hair-raising poem,” Bernstein’s Age of Anxiety features a central section where the solo piano emerges as the protagonist (perhaps Bernstein, himself) in this larger-than-life human drama.


Special Underwriting for A Century of Bernstein provided by the National Endowment for the Arts


Masterworks & Bravo Series

Fri 6/22/18 8:00PM
Sat 6/23/18 8:00PM
Sun 6/24/18 2:00PM